Lin Lim: A Daughter of the King

It is hard to put into words what Camp Talmid means to me. It’s incredible to think that this year was my fifth time at camp. When I think about who I am now, compared to who I was five years ago, it’s only then that I realise how much I’ve grown as a child of God. Some of my fondest memories are from Talmid and it is something that I’ve grown to look forward to each year. The main reason why, is because of the people. Through camp, I have been able to deepen my relationships with others. Camp is also a time where I have formed so many new friendships with Australians and Americans. Whether we were freaking out about the high ropes activities, sharing our feelings and thoughts during small group time, or laughing hysterically during the night time games, I cherish those moments I’ve shared with the people I now call my friends.

Most of the people I meet on the Sunday night of camp are relatively new faces, but by the end of the week, we are like family. This year when camp ended, I found myself reminiscing of the fun times I had and wishing camp ran longer than six days. I miss spending time bonding with those in my group, during the high ropes activities and the laughs we shared. I miss listening to the amazing lessons at the end of each day and having meaningful and rich conversations with my buddy afterwards. I miss playing the fun games at night and laughing so hard till I cried. However, I did not miss climbing up a giant ladder and jumping out of trees. Those are some of the things that I will never miss! Most of all though, I miss learning and spending every waking hour with like-minded people who love the Lord so much and being encouraged by them constantly. Camp is a time where I am at my fullest and best self and it is because of the influence that the Lipscomb team have had in my life. Throughout the week, I see them live out what it means to be Jesus and I struggle to find the words to say what an encouragement it has always been. Their love and passion for the Lord refreshes my spirit and makes me feel excited to be part of God’s family.

Another huge impact in my walk with Christ has been my five buddies, mentors and friends throughout the years. They made me feel so comfortable in sharing my experiences and thoughts with them, helped me learn and grow as a person by giving me advice, and most importantly, helped me see what a daughter of the King looks like. I am eternally grateful for their friendship, advice and love and can never thank them enough.

The activity that I look forward to the most each year is the Experiencing God morning. During one hour of silence and solitude, it is the time where I can rest in the silence and soak in God’s presence. The second hour is engaging in activities which draw me closer to Jesus by helping me focus and meditate on scripture and thought-provoking questions. The last hour is taking part in a prayer walk with your buddy and praying for certain aspects of their life and yours. I really enjoyed this hour and felt my bond with my buddy, Diana, grow stronger. There is something so powerful and encouraging about praying with and over your brothers and sisters in Christ.

Needless to say, I had an amazing time at camp this year. Talmid allowed me to feel closer to God than I have felt in a long time. I am so grateful for the friendships that I have made and friendships I have deepened. I don’t know how I got so lucky to be able to spend my holidays with such a wonderful group of people. All I know is that God has blessed me beyond my wildest dreams and I am forever thankful for the never-ending blessings that He showers over me.

Lin Lim, 18
University of Queensland
Biomedical Science
Brisbane, Australia

Photo 1

11707523_10153356050794070_7329929835692434135_n

11235812_10153356041774070_4904868724700824535_n

10483825_10152482369749070_3849065287191632258_o

Leave a Reply

